• Our department brings in nationally- and regionally-known writers through our annual Writer's Festival. Since its inception more than ten years ago, we have had readings and workshops by writers such as Lauren Winner, Silas House, Rachel Held Evans, Herbert Woodward Martin, Janet Peery, Brian Silberman, and Chris Hansen (a Lee alumnus). In that time, we have had more than forty authors give readings, work with students individually and in classes, and meet with various groups on campus. We have brought a mixture of well-known, award-winning writers and emerging authors to show our students the various ways writers make careers out of their passions.

    Information for 2016-17 Writer's Festival:

    Thursday, February 23, 2017
    7 PM, Rose Lecture Hall (College of Education)

    Robert Olen Butler
    Robert Olen Butler has published sixteen novels and six volumes of short fiction, including A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain, which won the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Butler has published a volume of his lectures on the creative process, From Where You Dream, edited with an introduction by Janet Burroway. He has twice won a National Magazine Award in Fiction and has received two Pushcart Prizes. He has also received a Guggenheim Fellowship in fiction and a National Endowment for the Arts grant. He is a Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing at Florida State University.

    Thursday, March 23, 2017
    7 PM, Rose Lecture Hall (College of Education)

    Susan O'Dell Underwood
    Susan O’Dell Underwood has published two collections of poetry, From (2010) and Love and Other Hungers (2014). In 2004 she won the Tennessee Arts Commission Literary Grant for Genesis Road, an unpublished novel. In 2014, she co-founded a small publishing company, Sapling Grove Press, which publishes books of Appalachian literature and art. After extensive study of piano performance as a teenager, she earned her BA in Photography from Carson-Newman College and her MFA in Creative Writing from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Since 1990, she has been a professor of English at Carson-Newman University; her interests include Appalachian literature and contemporary literature.

    Previous Writer's Festival Authors


    • Greg Brownderville
    • Scott Russell Sanders
    • Denise Giardina
    • Kevin Brown, Stacey Isom Campbell, and Will Woolfitt


    • Renee Emerson
    • T.J. Jarrett
    • Erin Tocknell
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Tal McThenia
    • Anya Silver
    • Jessie Van Eerden
    • Kevin Brown and Will Woolfitt


    • Lauren Winner
    • Brett Foster
    • Will Woolfitt


    • Rachel Held Evans
    • Stacey Isom, with Lisa Neely and Amber Wood
    • Kevin Brown


    • Chelsea Rathburn
    • Jim Scruton
    • Jeff Hardin
    • Chris Hansen
    • Alexandria LaFaye


    • Silas House
    • Lisa Neely
    • Stacey Isom


    • Janet Peery
    • Brian Silberman
    • Travis Wayne Denton
    • Sebastian Matthews
    • panel discussion with Rick Jackson, Earl Braggs,
      Sybil Baker, Thomas Balazs, and Rebecca Cook


    • Scott Cairns
    • W. Scott Olsen
    • Rick Jackson
    • Katie Chaple
    • Stacey Isom


    • Lauren Winner
    • Vivian Shipley
    • Silas House
    • Herbert Woodward Martin
    • Chad Prevost


    • Lauren Winner
    • Tim Gautreaux
    • Gerry LaFemina
    • Jamie Iredell

Academic Calendar

Faculty Council
Begins at 4:00 PM

Faculty Council
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
Begins at 12:00 AM

Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
Thanksgiving Holiday - Offices Closed
Begins at 12:00 AM

Thanksgiving Holiday - Offices Closed
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
All day

Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
All day

Thanksgiving Holiday - No Classes
View all events »